TIME TO GO
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
Sponsored by:

HISTORY

LA MARCIA DELLE VILLE

The first edition of "La Marcia delle Ville" (March of the Villas) was organized in 1977. It was then called "Marcia della Villa" (March of the Villa) and it only regarded one villa - Villa Reale - in Marlia. Later, thanks to the efforts of the organizers, the support of the Municipality of Capannori and the active collaboration of the owners of the villas, the number of historic homes that have become part of the circuit of the March has increased. Today there are as many as 11 in the carousel of the "March."

Here they are mentioned in order of the March: Del Vescovo, Orlando, Mansi, Lazzareschi, Torrigiani, Brughier, Guinigi, Rapondi, La Badiola, Villa Reale and finally "The Observatory", former astronomical observatory built by Maria Luisa of Bourbon and designed by architect Lorenzo Nottolini in the early 1800s, from which square you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the plain of Lucca.


PARTECIPANTS

176 runners took part in the first edition in 1977.  By 1982, only five years later, the participants were more than 1700. The number of participants has gradually increased becoming 4000 in the late nineties. The first editions of the new millenium brought between 4300 and 4600 participants. In 2007 begins what many have dubbed the "Marcia delle Ville" phenomenon after another record of attendance that culminates with the resounding success of the April 25, 2015 with the presence of more than 16,300 participants. A stratospheric result projecting "La marcia delle Ville" among the most attended marches nationwide.